Tung Chung River and New Town Development

Under the Tung Chung New Town Extension plan, the Tung Chung East area is now undergoing reclamation to create approximately 130 hectares of land, while the Tung Chung West development area overlaps with the lower basin of the Tung Chung River. Although no reclamation is taking place in Tung Chung West, there are concerns about the impact of the development on the water quality and ecology of the Tung Chung River.

The development in Tung Chung West will increase the coverage of residential, transportation, and commercial land uses within the river basin, completely altering its natural landscape. Fortunately, the authorities are aware of the ecological value of the Tung Chung River and are implementing various measures to balance flood control and conservation needs. These measures include the construction of polders along the riverbanks to reduce the flooding risk and minimize human disturbance in the riparian areas. Construction activities will also be avoided in the natural stream sections to preserve their natural state. Additionally, the authorities will establish Hong Kong's first Sustainable Urban Drainage System (SUDS), incorporating elements such as bioswales, porous pavements, rainwater attenuation and treatment ponds, to mitigate the threat of urban pollution to the water quality of the Tung Chung River.

The first River Park in Hong Kong will also be established as part of the Tung Chung New Town Extension in the future, and the channelized section of the Tung Chung River will be revitalised. Along with certain natural river sections, they will be included in the River Park, thus combining recreational, ecological conservation, and flood prevention functions, and promoting a water-friendly culture.

We will continue to monitor the ecology and water quality of the Tung Chung River to evaluate the effectiveness of the conservation measures implemented by the authorities and ensure the precious natural resources of the Tung Chung River are adequately protected.

東涌河與新市鎮發展

在東涌新市鎮擴展計劃下,東涌東正進行填海工程,以開拓約130公頃土地,而東涌西發展範圍正與東涌河下游河谷重疊。雖然東涌西不作任何填海,但其發展亦令人關注工程對東涌河水質和生態的影響。

東涌西發展將增加河盆內的住屋、道路及商業用地,徹底改變天然河盆面貌。幸而當局亦了解到東涌河的生態價值,將採取多項措施以平衡防洪和保育需要,當中包括於河道兩旁築起「防洪堰」,一方面減低水浸風險,另一方面可隔開河岸範圍減少人為干擾。亦會避免在東涌河天然河段的河床施工,以保存河流的天然面貌。此外,當局將建立本港首個「可持續城市排水系統」,以生態草溝、多孔透水路面、雨水滯留及處理池等元素,減緩城市污染對東涌河水質的威脅。

未來於東涌新市鎮擴展部分,更會設立全港首個「河畔公園」,並復修已被渠道化的東涌河河段,連同部分天然河段,一併劃為河畔公園,集康樂、生態保育和防洪多項功能,並提倡親水文化。

我們將持續監察東涌河生態和水質,以檢視當局一連串保育措施的成效,並確保東涌河珍貴的天然資源獲良好保護。