The Whole River

A river is not simply a unidirectional flow of water from the sources to the estuary. On the contrary, it comprises all its branches flowing from the sources into the ocean, as well as its network of interconnections with the groundwater system. In addition, the land of the whole catchment area and the river itself are intertwined physically, chemically and ecologically. The river course and estuary, together with the land of the river basin, form a whole river.

If we ignore the fact that a river and its land are closely linked and focus only on the channels when river problems arise, we will not be able to effectively eradicate their root causes. For example, when we see a decline in water quality, it may not be caused only by polluted water being discharged directly into the river, but also due to the removal of vegetation that prevents the land from effectively filtering the pollutants. In the event of worsened floods, it may not be because the river is narrower than before but because the extensive development of the river basin increases the amount of impermeable surfaces that do not absorb the excess surface runoff during heavy rain storms.

River Basin Management

A river and its basin environment are closely related. Thus the conservation of a river must include proper management of its basin. This means appropriate planning of land uses plus stronger enforcement of the law to stop environmentally damaging acts. For instance, a large area of agricultural land in Shek Lau Po Village has become an open storage yard and poorly managed vehicle workshops on the river banks often discharge polluted water directly into the river. Such activities within the basin must be halted as soon as possible. Also, illegally widened roads must be restored and vehicles carrying garbage, construction and demolition materials must be forbidden to use sections of the Tung Chung Road within Tung Chung River Valley. In the long run, the government could acquire private lands in the valley and limit land uses to those compatible with the conservation intention to adequately protect Tung Chung River.

Future extension of Tung Chung New Town must be done according to the “river basin management” principles, taking Tung Chung River and its entire basin into account in its planning to preserve "the whole river” so that Tung Chung River can continue to provide its ecosystem services. To achieve the above, the following principles must be followed:

  • Natural river courses and the estuary should not be altered. This preserves the natural landscapes of all the river sections, its bed, its banks and estuary, as well as its natural flow;
  • Land use planning within the basin should take into account the imperviousness, the natural landscapes and the ecosystems;
  • Sufficient vegetation cover in the river basin should be preserved;
  • Discharge of sewage or surface runoff from developed lands must not enter the river and damage its water quality and ecology.

Most of Tung Chung River is still in its natural state and has not been extensively modified. With the “river basin management” principles upheld, it has the potential to become the new model for urban planning in Hong Kong, avoiding the fate of other rivers that were simply seen as drainage channels. To avoid the various environmental problems of the old model, we have the following suggestions:

  • Incorporate existing natural river sections, estuary, mangrove and fung shui woods into the new town as recreation spaces and green zones;
  • Implement suitable land use zonings and conservation measures to protect the ecological values of Tung Chung River and the fishery resources of Tung Chung Bay;
  • Develop recreational facilities that are compatible with conservation objectives such as jogging tracks, bicycle lanes, kayaking etc., making Tung Chung New Town a more livable environment;
  • Make use of the characteristics Tung Chung River and its connection to hiking trails and ancient paths, promote stream appreciation and eco-tourism;
  • Establish education and tourism facilities or hotspots focusing on themes such as the river, fisheries, ecology, incense industry in Sha Lo Wan and the history of Tung Chung to promote eco-tourism and provide job opportunities within the neighbourhood.

整全河流

河流並非只是一個從源頭到河口的單向直線輸水系統。相反,河流除了由河源至匯合支流再流入海洋,亦包括了河水與地下水的雙向互通,可說是「縱」、「橫」交合。此外,整個集水區的河盆範圍內的土地,與河流兩者之間,其物理與化學結構、生態亦互相影響。河道與河口,加上河盆範圍內的土地,方構成一條「整全河流」。

如果我們忽略了「整全河流」概況,未有審視整個河盆的規劃,將河流與土地割裂,忽視兩者互相關連的事實,面對河流的問題時只是針對河道本身片面地處理,便不能根治問題。例如,當我們看見水質轉壞,不單是因為有人排放污水至河道,更可能是因為河盆植被消失,生態系統服務受干擾,無法過濾污水。又例如我們看見河水氾濫愈趨嚴重,不是因為河道變窄,而是河盆土地被大肆發展,不滲水的混凝土表面增加,無法吸收過量雨水所致。

河盆管理

河流和整個河盆環境息息相關,河流保育須配合整個河盆環境的管理,恰當地規劃土地用途的同時,亦要加強執法,遏止破壞環境的事件發生。以石榴埔村為例,當地有大片農地變成露天倉地,一些管理不善的棕地就在河邊,常常將污水直接排入河道,這種河盆範圍內的污染情況,應盡早遏止。另一方面,村內非法開闢的道路亦應當取締,禁止載有泥頭、垃圾和拆建廢物車輛使用東涌谷內的東涌路,長遠則可收回東涌谷的私人土地,將土地劃作與自然保育相容的用途,更全面地保護東涌河。

未來東涌擴展新市鎮時,需以「河盆管理」概念,規劃東涌河以及整個河盆,保留「整全河流」,讓東涌河為我們提供最理想的「生態系統服務」。要在東涌河實踐「河盆管理」,應恪守以下原則:

  • 天然河道和河口不應有任何改動,以保存各河段、河床、河濱和河口的自然地貌和底質,以及河道和河口的天然走向;
  • 規劃河盆的土地利用時應顧及河盆透水性、天然景觀及生態;
  • 河盆應保留足夠植被;
  • 不可將污水或已發展地區的地面徑流排放入河道或河口,以保護水質和生態。

東涌河大部分河段仍保留著天然狀態,未受大規模人工改造,只要善用「河盆管理」,極具潛質成為香港城市規劃的新典範,有別於以往河道工程視河流為排水渠,衍生了各種環境問題的舊有模式。以下是我們對東涌河河盆規劃的一些建議:

  • 現有的天然河段、河口、紅樹林和風水林融入新市鎮規劃中,可成為天然的休憩用地和綠化地區;
  • 配合恰當的土地用途規劃和保護措施,以提高東涌河生態和東涌灣漁業資源;
  • 發展與生態保育相容的康樂活動,如跑步徑、單車徑、獨木舟等,令東涌新市鎮變得更宜居;
  • 發揮東涌河優勢和特色,連接各行山徑和古道,或成為賞澗勝地,推廣生態旅遊;
  • 以河流、漁業、魚類生態、沙螺灣的沉香業、東涌歷史等主題設立教育、遊客設施或景點,推廣生態旅遊業之餘更能提供區內就業機會。