Getting to Know Tung Chung River

Tung Chung River is to the southwest of Tung Chung New Town in Lantau and is a remaining natural river in Hong Kong. The whole river course is pristine from its sources to its estuary and bay, except the channelized sections from Shek Lau Po to Wong Ka Wai and where it crosses Tung Chung Road for flood prevention purposes.

Tung Chung River has catchments around its east and west branches, with a basin area of 11 square kilometres. The west branch is known as Tso Stream, which begins between Lantau Peak and Sunset Peak. North Fung Tai Stream, the east branch, originates from the west of Sunset Peak. The two branches flow through the villages of Shek Mun Kap, Mok Ka, Fong Yuen, Shek Lau Po etc., then merge at the end of the valley between Ngau Au and Wai Ka Wai, finally flowing into the 80 hectares Tung Chung Bay.

Tung Chung River is one of the few rivers in Hong Kong with good water quality. It is one of the major rivers feeding Shek Pik Reservoir. The Environmental Protection Department reported an E. coli level of 760/100ml in Tung Chung River, grading it as “excellent” in water quality in 2022. Moreover, Tung Chung River has very high ecological value with many species of native freshwater fish recorded, including the Beijing Thick-lipped Barb. The large areas of mangroves and mudflat at the estuary are also habitats for many valuable species. Horseshoe crabs, seahorses, pipefishes, and a number of fish species of commercial value reproduce and nurse their young at Tung Chung Bay.

有關東涌河

東涌河位於大嶼山東涌新市鎮西南面,是香港僅餘的天然河流,由河源、河口至海灣,皆未受破壞,僅下游石榴埔至黃家圍,以及與東涌道相交的河段因防洪工程被渠道化。

東涌河由東、西兩河匯聚而成,河盆面積達11平方公里,以別名「曹溪」的西河為幹流,源自鳳凰山鳳峰與凰峰之間;人稱「鳳大北坑」的東河則為主要支流,發源於大東山山頂以西。東、西兩河流經石門甲、莫家、芳園、石榴埔等村落,最後於河谷末處的牛凹和黃家圍之間匯合,再流入面積達80公頃的東涌灣。

東涌河是香港少數水質良好的河流,是石壁水塘其中一條主要供水河流。根據2022年環保署的化驗結果,每100毫升河水平均只含580顆大腸桿菌,屬「極佳」評級。此外,東涌河擁有極高的生態價值,曾紀錄多種原生淡水魚,當中包括稀有的北江光唇魚。河口則是一大片天然紅樹林和泥灘,多種珍貴生物棲息其中。對出的東涌灣是鱟(馬蹄蟹)、海馬、海龍,以及多種具商業價值魚類的繁殖和育幼水域。